Canadian Banks Canadian Loans

PDA

View Full Version : need a little advice

sara
02-01-2007, 12:51 PM
I recently moved to Ontario from British Columbia because my husband received a job. I have joined him in Ontario too and I am ernestly searching for job prospects. I have a BA and B.ED with a focus on primary education. My job experience ranges from teaching in a traditional classroom to corporate training at a telecommunications company out west. I am in a little bit of a bind because I know that if a pursue a traditional teaching job in the classroom I will certainly have to supply teach, which is not something I want to do considering I have been teaching for 8 years. If I chose not to teach in the classroom then it means finding an "education" job which seem to be few and far between. Not to mention that I am used to making around 38000-45000 a year so entering the supply teaching world will be a definate pay decrease (supply teachers make on average 13000 per annum). Anyhow...just wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to what avenue I should pursue. I need a little bit of focus so that things start happening for me. Thanks

Tsveta
02-02-2007, 08:54 AM
Hi Sara, why don't you start as a supply teacher and meanwhile do something else, like teaching on seminars or facilitate corporate training like you used to do?

Are you in Toronto?

sara
02-02-2007, 09:14 AM
Thanks Tsveta. I was starting to come to this conclusion as well. It takes a while to get recertified as a teacher from BC to Ontario so I might use that time to pursue other opportunities and see where that leads me. It's hard to know what to do.... I am not in Toronto which makes things a little more difficult because there seems to be a lot of corporate training jobs in Toronto that look fabulous. I am residing in London.

Tsveta
02-02-2007, 09:35 AM
Hi Sara,

I found the web site of your district school board: http://www.tvdsb.on.ca/
Call them and find out what are the requirements.