Canadian Banks Canadian Loans

PDA

View Full Version : Looking for work as software developer in Toronto

mbshaw
02-23-2007, 01:58 PM
Hi folks,

I'm a recent graduate (2005) from software engineering looking for work in the software development field in Toronto. I have one year experience work with C# ASP.NET and SQL, though I have used a large number of other languages both academically and/or for private use. Is there any opportunity for me?
Thanks,

- Michael

Tsveta
02-26-2007, 12:26 PM
Hi did you try contacting recruiting agencies (http://jobagencies.ca/index.asp?p=1&sp=1)?

bruhaha
03-03-2007, 07:23 AM
Are you till seeking employemnt?

mbshaw
03-10-2007, 09:45 AM
Hi bruhaha,

Yes, i'm still looking for work as of right now.
I just arrived in Toronto this week and hoping that being here rather than 2 hours away will make my job search a little more productive.

- Michael

Tsveta
03-10-2007, 10:27 AM
Hi Michael,
Right now the IT market is really hot. Did you manage to contact recruiters? Most of the IT jobs go through employment agents. Are you looking for a full time or contract position?

mbshaw
03-13-2007, 02:52 PM
Hi Tsveta,

I've contacted about 7 recruiters now and i'm generally getting the same response: e-mail us your resume and we'll call you. Is this the general process of recruitment agencies here in Toronto? Are there any that are a little more personable that you can recommend? Is there any that specialize more in entry level or junior positions in the IT field?
Thanks,

- Michael

mbshaw
03-19-2007, 10:07 AM
Still looking for an answer to my previous questions. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

- Michael

Tsveta
03-20-2007, 10:49 AM
Hi Michael, The feedback that you are getting is absolutely normal. I would suggest uploading your resume on Monster.ca and workopolis.com and updating it every day. This means that you are actively looking for a job. I don't want to discourage you but you have to send at least 100 emails to get some response.