Canadian Banks Canadian Loans

PDA

View Full Version : Should I offer a particular "product" or a service?

praefect
03-21-2007, 12:17 PM
I am thinking (and yes, this is quite preliminary) about starting a business of my own to suppliment my income.

I am a software developer by trade and education. As such, I can see to possible routes which I can go - either create a program of some nature, and try to market it to a specific market, or I can offer a service - something like affordable custom software for small businesses in my area. Which route do you see as being more viable? Also, does anyone have any advice as to how to get started if I go the "service" route?

Alternatively, I have been considering the various freelancer sites online. Would this prove a better route, and what kind of issues will I need to deal with if I do sign up with them (for arguments sake, lets assume the site itself is reputable) given that almost all of the sites I have seen are outside of Canada. Are there any good Canadian resources/alternatives?

Thank you for all assistance.
Rob

contractor
03-23-2007, 09:44 AM
Hi, you can do both in your spare time until you got a steady income from one of them to concentrate on your business.
To create “custom software for small businesses" may be a big project and it can take years to finish it. What do you have in mind? Can you do it alone or would you need to a partner? You have to consider all these things before starting your project. And when it is done, how would you market it?
It is not an easy job to start a business and you have to carefully think about everything.

As for the freelance, you can certainly do that but if it is time consuming when will you have time to work on you "software project"? :)

I guess I ask too many questions :)

Tsveta
03-27-2007, 12:02 PM
Hi, you can work remotely/from home. I know a lot of software developers who work on contracts from home.

Paul
04-03-2007, 10:16 AM