Canadian Banks Canadian Loans

PDA

View Full Version : Computer Science Jobs

sdet
03-23-2006, 10:50 PM
Hi,

I will graduate from University of Waterloo with a degree in computer sciecne next yr. I am an international student here & I wont have any canadian job experience when I graduate. So I am really worried about the job prospects when I gradute. Can anyone give me some idea on what to expect?

lookingforjob
03-24-2006, 08:49 AM
Hi,

I will graduate from University of Waterloo with a degree in computer sciecne next yr. I am an international student here & I wont have any canadian job experience when I graduate. So I am really worried about the job prospects when I gradute. Can anyone give me some idea on what to expect?

It is a very common misconception that not having “Canadian Experience” will be a problem when looking for job in Canada. This is simply not the case. The “Canadian Experience” myth is perpetuated by recruiters in lousy attempt to lowball what they pay you. Please tell me how does US job experience or UK job experience for example differ from “Canadian Experience”? If it does then I would say that in general having US or UK job experience looks better on your resume :).

Not having any job experience is another story altogether. In this case it will be a little harder to get your first job, but after that will be OK.

The only thing that matters is your skill set and your ability to do the job you are hired to do.

Good luck!

Ronin
03-28-2006, 04:38 PM
Yes, people should not worry about that in a field such as computer science.
Computers are a universal language!
You can work in just about any country in the world, and everything is still virtually the same.

Tsveta
03-28-2006, 05:50 PM
I’m afraid that I will repeat myself but you should put emphasis on your education and skills and on your ability to learn. Your first job will be a little harder to get and maybe won’t be very well paid but in time you can get promoted or find another job.