Canadian Banks Canadian Loans

PDA

View Full Version : IT jobs in Toronto

Rómulo
04-24-2006, 11:54 AM
Greetings everybody!

I'm an IT professional from Ecuador with 10+ years of experience in my field. I have a bachelor's in Computer Science obtained in the US.
I received my Canadian permanent residence visa last month and I'm preparing myself for this big adventure. I'm married and have a 10 year old daughter. We all have to land in Toronto before August 16th. There is one thing that frets me: I'm 45 years old and wonder if that's going to be an obstacle in my job search:confused: . I was told to start my job search as soon as I arrive because if I try to do it remotely beforehand, I won't be taken into account. Any comments?

lookingforjob
04-24-2006, 03:29 PM
Hi Romulo,

The IT job market is very good at the moment and there are lots of IT jobs on the market especially in Toronto. You can start the search remotely, but it will be much easier when you are in Toronto, because you'll be available for face to face interviews with recruiters and employers.

Are you looking for permanent or contract jobs? What are your skills and what technologies do you have experience with?

Rómulo
04-24-2006, 05:02 PM
Hi lookingforjob,

Thanks for your positive feedback. I'd like to get a permanent position.
During my career I have worked in the areas of technical support in UNIX
and databases (6 years), client/server development (4 years) and computer
telephony integration (4 years). My most current skills include SQL Server 2000, Visual Basic 6 and Crystal Reports XI. Right now I'm migrating an
application developed in VB6, Crystal 8.5 and SQL Server 2000 into Visual
Basic .NET, Crystal XI and SQL Server 2005. By the way, I'm a native speaker of Spanish.

Regards,
:)

lookingforjob
04-24-2006, 10:08 PM