Canadian Banks Canadian Loans

PDA

View Full Version : An interesting article.

workaholic
05-13-2006, 07:45 PM
I came across this while perusing articles to post on my website and thought it may give you something to think about. Not to make you paranoid but as a customer service agent I was usually the first one a potential candidate came in contact with. You bet I told the manager my impressions of them good and bad.

Job Interviews: When Does Your Interview Really Begin?
By Bonnie Lowe

Most job candidates think their interview begins when they are introduced to the interviewer at the start of the question-and-answer session. If you wait until then to display your "best interview behavior," you may lose the job before you answer the first question!

This is a rather extreme example, but one of the nation's leading airlines often flies job candidates to their headquarters for job interviews. The airline provides the round-trip airfares. What the lucky candidates don't realize is that their tickets are "tagged" to identify them as job applicants on their way to an interview with the airline. Those candidates are being evaluated from the moment they enter the airport!

If candidate Mary Smith is inconsiderate to fellow passengers or rude to a flight attendant, for example, this information is reported to the hiring manager before Mary arrives for her interview. She'll go through the interview, may do a great job answering the questions, and will be totally mystified about why she is NOT selected for the position.

Here are more typical situations where your interactions with people prior to your interview may affect the hiring decision:

When you talk to someone from HR on the telephone to schedule your interview;

When you exchange small talk while riding in the elevator with someone;

When you talk to the receptionist while waiting for your interview to begin;

When someone walks by while you're waiting and starts a brief conversation with you.