Canadian Banks Canadian Loans

PDA

View Full Version : How important are credentials/education?

thenewgirl
04-18-2008, 01:53 AM
I have been working in administrative support now for almost 7 years after receiving a certificate in Business Software Systems and Administration. The full-time daytime hours are really beginning to exhaust me, and I am thinking about going into business for myself so that I can have the opportunity of structuring my own schedule.

I am very organized and self-motivated and I don't have a problem with working long hours; however, I would like the opportunity to choose when those hours are instead of being stuck in a 9-5 shift.

I am seriously contemplating becoming self-employed as a professional writer. I understand there is a market for grant writing for non-profit organizations and also for writing manuals for software companies. Given my work history being employed with non-profits and having to write several instruction manuals in my previous jobs, I think that this is work that I would do well and also enjoy doing.

My only doubt about this venture is not whether I am capable of doing the work, but whether others will deem me capable of such work because of my lack of education. Other than my Business Certificate, I do not have any additional post-secondary education and have otherwise been self-taught.

I read extensively, I have great research skills, I learn quickly and I'm active in my community, and I believe that I have the skills necessary to be successful. Honestly though, I can't really judge if many of my potential clients will seek out another writer because I don't have a degree or formal credentials in professional writing. I'm not in a position to return to school to finish a degree at this point either, but I know I really need to make a career change soon.

If anyone can give me their opinion on how much of an obstacle this might prove to be or share their experiences, I would really appreciate it.

Tsveta