Canadian Banks Canadian Loans

PDA

View Full Version : Canada...foreign education and foreign degrees?

knight-fyre
06-29-2008, 06:01 PM
Where do I go to find out if my degree is recognized by Canadian Employeers? The degree I am studying for is a Computing and IT Bachelor's degree. I intend to specialize in web services using Java. What additional certification will I need or is useful in landing a job in that field?

Also, after finishing University I intend to go on an Internship program overseas for over 1 year, possibly longer. My best wishes is to do it in Canada but I might have to do my Internship in the USA. Will this experience in the USA be recognized by Canadian employers?

The reason I ask is because I have read and heard stories on the Internet about Employers not placing any value on foreign qualifications as high as a Ph.d. This worries me because I don't want to have to spend 3 - 4 additional years acquiring the same qualification because Canadian employers only want Canadian qualifications.

Tsveta
07-01-2008, 01:39 AM
In the IT sector Canadian degree is not that important. People are not required to have any sort of Canadian degree. Recruiters frequently ask about Canadian experince though. This a tough one since you don't have any canadian job history. Again IT is the same in every country so don't worry too much about it.

Nikki
03-06-2009, 11:21 PM
You can send your credentials to Comparative Education Service, University in Toronto, in order to be evaluated. I think PhDs are usually recognized, but some of my friends encountered some problems with MSc and MA degrees.

http://www.adm.utoronto.ca/ces/

Also the World Education Service offers the preliminary canadian equivalency of your credentials for some small fee

http://www.wes.org/ca/evaluations/preliminary.asp

And yes, Canadian employees do love Canadian education and experience...

phuc vy
03-07-2009, 09:02 AM