Canadian Banks Canadian Loans

PDA

View Full Version : How to land a job after switching industry???

newbie2006
06-14-2006, 07:51 PM
My past experience in the textile industry (supervisor and management positions - overseas). After wards I completed my bachelor and the master degree in information systems in the USA. I do not have any good exp in IT, except 2 years as a lab associate, a part time position at school's computer lab and two related internships in local companies).

Any suggestion how and where do I land a job in Canada where I'm landing very soon??? I really do not mind to start as a Entry level in the IT field...But my concern also how will I compete with local and immigrated IT gurus???

newbie2006
06-15-2006, 11:38 AM
Any thoughts?????????????????

Tsveta
06-15-2006, 02:51 PM
Finding your first job in Canada is never easy. You can start looking for a job now , try monster.ca and workopolis.com. They are the best job banks. Do you have any friends and relatives in Canada? If you do, go to the same city and when you find a job and be on your own, you can choose the place you want to live. Did you decide where you want to land? Right now the job market is very good and maybe you will find a job soon.

Good luck and keep us posted

whitey
06-15-2006, 08:35 PM
if you are willing to accept the money that the "immigrant guru" people work for, you'll get the job :)
The pay is not that low i have found in all entry level IT roles, and they will often prefer your English skills over others.

newbie2006
06-15-2006, 10:37 PM
I appreciate your inputs.

I know I'm gonna land to Toronto and yes, I do have few friends. But I wonder how much they will be helpful, coz their life is so far hard for them to survive (may be). I wonder how much my own local search ability will help me to find entry level IT jobs????