Canadian Banks Canadian Loans

PDA

View Full Version : recent graduate - no references

morgan86
07-06-2006, 08:32 AM
Hi, I am a recent graduate and I am looking for my first real job. I am a little confused because I don’t have related work experience and I don’t have references from people in the same field. Do you have any suggestions? The recruiters are asking me for references and I don’t know what to tell them.

Tsveta
07-07-2006, 09:20 AM
Oh, I see what’s bothering you now. It wasn't quite clear from your previous message.
Every entry-level job requires more or less the same qualities:
- problem-solving skills
- leadership skills
- ability to work effectively with others
- manage your time effectively

You have to convince the recruiter that you possess these skills and abilities. Have been a full-time student? Can you get references from 2 of your professors or faculty members who know you? There must be somebody who can give you a good reference.

It doesn't matter that your previous job is not related to your field of study. The above are basic qualities that every recruiter and employer are looking for anyway.

morgan86
07-10-2006, 08:11 AM
Thanks Tsveta! I can ask for references and I hope I'll get good ones :)
I just never thought of asking my professors. I somehow thought that only references form colleagues and managers do count.

contractor
08-21-2006, 10:09 AM
Hi, I am a recent graduate and I am looking for my first real job. I am a little confused because I don’t have related work experience and I don’t have references from people in the same field. Do you have any suggestions? The recruiters are asking me for references and I don’t know what to tell them.

You can ask for a reference a neighbor or somebody where you did some community work. Organizing, problem solving skills, ability to work in a team are always valuable and the employers are looking for those skills when they hire people. :cool:

lookingforjob
08-22-2006, 08:51 AM