Canadian Banks Canadian Loans

PDA

View Full Version : UK Newbie saying hi!

fairylights
09-29-2006, 01:10 PM
Hi!

We've just put in our skilled worker application for PR and I've been advised to try finding a job in Canada as that would expedite our application. Problem is, I don't know where to start! I'm a graduate with a BA and an MA, but spent my pre-children years as a medical secretary and executive assistant. I now sell children's books and tutor ancient history around my kids.

Where do I start to find a job - do I just send my resume to everyone that I see that I could do and then deal with the immigration issues later? Has anyone been through this with advice to share? please?!?!

Thanks!

philip
09-29-2006, 01:28 PM
Welcome, where in the UK are you from, I am originally from Newcastle. The immigration process can be a tricky one; I have a lead that might help on the book sales position. Contact me on the below and I will make an introduction. You will love Canada!

Tsveta
09-29-2006, 02:01 PM
Hi,
Check out our new Job Offers (http://jobforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=16)section as well as the employment agencies (http://www.jobagencies.ca/index.asp?p=1&sp=1)list.
Most of the jobs in Canada go through recruiting agencies.

Have you decided where in Canada you would like to settle?

fairylights
09-29-2006, 04:03 PM
Thanks guys! We've been a bit determined to get the paperwork in, expecting it would take years to get the PR through to get started. I've put my resume on monster, and I'm just going to go with my gut. We have so many beautiful places to choose from that the decision over where to live keeps changing ... we're planning to road trip with the kids from Toronto to Vancouver next summer to see how we feel. I'll have to bring a bundle of resumes with me! :p