Canadian Banks Canadian Loans

PDA

View Full Version : European work experience

keydil
10-15-2006, 02:20 PM
My wife and myself intend to live in GTA, or somewhere else in Ontario. We are going to get our immigration papers ready in coming months. I have got my BS in engineering in Brussels (belgium). My wife is a nail esthetician, and I have more than 8 years experience in IT, mostly in big american companies here in Brussels.
I wish to know how valid my experience would be for canadian employeers. Because I have heard that Canada does not consider non-north american experience, and therefore they would pay me ad somebody who has no experience, and has just finished his studies. Is that right ? Do the employeers ask for a canadian degree, or they accept engineering degrees obtained in europe? Or they just don't care about the degree, and only the knowledge and performance are taken into account ?
Thanks,
keydil

Tsveta
10-15-2006, 03:33 PM
Hi, I'm afraid I may be repeating myself but IT is an industry where the Canadian experience is not so relevant, however most of the recruiters will ask you for it, so be prepared. You have been working for American companies and I would suggest you to highlight this in your Resume. Newcomers come to Canada every year and they all have work experience from different countries. You have to be confident and show the potential recruiter/employer that you have all the skills and abilities to perform well here and will be a valuable asset to their company.
The employers accept degrees from Europe especially in the IT field.

Olga
10-16-2006, 09:13 AM
My wife and myself intend to live in GTA, or somewhere else in Ontario. We are going to get our immigration papers ready in coming months. I have got my BS in engineering in Brussels (belgium). My wife is a nail esthetician, and I have more than 8 years experience in IT, mostly in big american companies here in Brussels.